What is the Order of the Arrow

For over 100 years, the Order of the Arrow (OA) has recognized Scouts and Scouters who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives. This recognition provides encouragement for others to live these ideals as well. Arrowmen are known for maintaining camping traditions and spirit, promoting year-round and long term resident camping, and providing cheerful service to others. OA service, activities, adventures, and training for youth and adults are models of quality leadership development and programming that enrich and help to extend Scouting to America’s youth.

The Mission and Purpose of the Order of the Arrow

The Order of the Arrow was founded in 1915 to serve a useful purpose: to cause the Scout Oath and Law to spring into action in all parts of the nation. To this day, the Order is dedicated to this high purpose.

History of the Order

The Order of the Arrow has a rich history spanning 100 years, from its beginnings at a Boy Scout summer camp to its present role as a part of the Scouting program.

Organization & Structure

The Order of the Arrow has over 150,000 members nationwide. Although the Order of the Arrow is a thing of the spirit, there are several layers of organization, each with its own role.

Membership Requirements and the Inductions Process

Learn about the requirements to become an Arrowman, the induction process, and the levels of memberships within the Order.


The Order of the Arrow is led by youth leadership (national chief, national vice chief), the national Order of the Arrow chairman, the OA director and the OA specialist. In addition the national Order of the Arrow committee provides direction for the yearly program.

Order of the Arrow Organization


The national committee sets policy, directs the national program of the Order, and broadly manages the organization above the local lodge level.



There are four (4) geographical regions: Central, Northeast, Southern, and Western.



We are a part of Section C-6A.  Sections consists of lodges within a geographic area of the region. Each section is led by a chief, vice chief, and secretary.


Jaccos Towne

Lodges exist to serve BSA councils and individual units. Jaccos Towne Lodge aligns with Crossroads of America Council.



Our Chapter, Wundchenneu (which means West) is where the Brotherhood of Those Who Serve Cheerfully really takes root.

OA Tools and Resources

Online ordering from the official National Order of the Arrow store.  A wide range of OA branded scout wear and objects.

Jumpstart is for New Arrowmen. You’ll need your OA handbook to access the password to this site.

Tracking the OA Sash Through Time” by Devang Desai, published in 1999.  Find out more about the early history of the Sash and OA.